- 18.2-272. Driving after forfeiture of license.
- Any individual found operating or driving any kind of motor vehicle, train or engine at the time they were deprived to do so
- upon sentenced for the offence of § 18.2-268.3 or 46.2-341.26:3 or of a violation set forth in subsection E of § 18.2-270,
- by § 18.2-271 or 46.2-391.2,
- after the license of the offender has been canceled pursuant to § 46.2-389 or 46.2-391, or
- in the offence of the set laws of a restricted license issued pursuant to subsection E of § 18.2-271.1, will be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor except as otherwise provided in § 46.2-391, and is subject to administrative revocation of the driver’s license pursuant to §§ 46.2-389 and 46.2-391.
Any individual condemned for 3 violations as per the defined sections within the time period of 10 years, will be sentenced for a Class 6 felony.
- Irrespective of complying with other limitations of the drivers privilege to operate or drive an automobile, if any Virginian driver’s privilege has been revoked, suspended or restricted due to the violation of § 18.2-36.1, 18.2-51.4, 18.2-266, 18.2-268.3, 46.2-341.24, or 46.2-341.26:3, the offender caught driving and having a 0.02 percent or more blood alcohol content will be found violating this section.
Any suspected person caught in violating this subsection will have to take a preliminary breath test as per the provisions of § 18.2-267, will be obliged to give their consensus for a blood and/or breath sample for investigation as per the provisions of § 18.2-268.2, and, if the suspect is found in this subsections violation, shall be subject to the provisions of §§ 18.2-268.1 through 18.2-268.12.
- Any individual operating or driving an automobile while lacking a verified ignition interlock system as per the requirement by § 46.2-391.01 will be held under a Class 1 misdemeanor. The offender will also be subjected to the cancelation of their driver’s license pursuant to §§ 46.2-389 and 46.2-391.
What Is the Being Caught Driving On A Suspended License in Richmond – Virginia
The court of Richmond – Virginia takes the violation of Va code 18.2-272 seriously. The judge can deliberate on giving the offender 15-20 days in prison. Not only that, the court has all the power and authority to suspend the license for a full year, even if it is the violator’s first offense. Most violators facing this offence have to deal with the fact that after the suspension of the license, no restricted license is allowed.
Violation of Virginia Code 18.2-272 means a Class 1 misdemeanor. So if the offender is found guilty, there is a real probability of serving jail time.
Get Help from Your Richmond – Virginian Traffic Law Attorney
The penalty and charges of driving on a revoked license can be severe for a Richmond resident to handle by themselves. Hire an experienced and skilled traffic law attorney to help you defend and win your case. If you have been placed the charges of driving on a suspended license in the state of Virginia, do not try to handle your case without the help of your skilled Virginian attorney. Your attorney will be there to fight your case and result in a favorable outcome for yourself. Your Virginian lawyer is familiar with the entire trial process. Hire an experienced and skilled traffic law attorney to help you defend and win your case.