Driving Without a License in Richmond Virginia

Virginia’s law enforcement authorities deal with driving laws very strictly. It is vital to understand the elements of driving and their respective penalties in Virginia to avoid its negative impacts on your life. Violation of driving laws in Virginia is considered as a major negligence and the guilty individuals can even suffer penalties of dollar till the charges of imprisonment.

The law in Richmond Virginia for Driving without a License

As per the Virginia code section 46.2-300 Driving without license prohibited law states:

“No person, except those expressly exempted in §§ 46.2-303 through 46.2-308, shall drive any motor vehicle on any highway in the Commonwealth until such person has applied for a driver’s license, as provided in this article, satisfactorily passed the examination required by § 46.2-325, and obtained a driver’s license, nor unless the license is valid. A violation of this section is a Class 2 misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor. Upon conviction under this section, the court may suspend the person’s privilege to drive for a period not to exceed 90 days.”

The penalties for driving without a license in Richmond Virginia

Within Richmond Virginia, the drivers are not allowed to drive a vehicle without having a valid driving license.

  1. According to the law, driving without a license is considered as a class 2 misdemeanor and the convicted person can face a penalty of $1000 fine along with a jail time of 6 months.
  2. If the crime is committed twice than the convicted person faces the charge with class 1 misdemeanor and he faces a penalty of a maximum $2500 along with 1 year of jail time.
  3. Along with these charges, the court can even suspend your driving license for up to 90 days.

Exceptions to driving laws

Although the Virginia code section 46.2-300 prohibits a driver from driving without a license on the highway of Virginia, there are few exceptions to the law. Such as Virginia code Section 46.2-308 deems that a new citizen of Richmond Virginia who is above the age of 16 years and three months is exempted for 60 days only in case they have a license in another state.

“46.2-308. Temporary exemption for new resident licensed under laws of another state; privately owned vehicle driver’s licenses. A resident over the age of sixteen years and three months who has been duly licensed as a driver under a law of another state or country requiring the licensing of drivers shall, for the first sixty days of his residency in the Commonwealth, be permitted, without a Virginia license, to drive a motor vehicle on the highways of the Commonwealth.

Persons to whom military privately-owned vehicle driver’s licenses have been issued by the Department of Defense shall, for the first sixty days of their residency in the Commonwealth, be permitted, without a Virginia license, to drive motor vehicles on the highways of the Commonwealth.”

If you are convicted of driving without a license in Richmond Virginia you should immediately contact an experienced Virginia criminal defense lawyer.