Hit and Run Charge in Richmond – Virginia

According to the Code of Virginia § 46.2-894.

“Duty of driver to stop, etc., in event of an accident involving injury or death or damage to attended property; penalty.”

What is the Penalty Sentenced to a Richmond – Virginian Driver for a Hit and Run Charge?

  1. For Unattended Property Damages of Less Than $250: If the estimated amount of the damages of an unattended property is projected to be of no less than $250, the accused Richmond driver will be punished to pay a maximum fine of $250. Not just that, but 3 demerit points will be added to the driver’s driving record. All of these stated penalties are for those sentenced to a Class 4 Misdemeanor.
  2. For Unattended Property Damages of More Than $250: If the estimated amount of the damages of an unattended property is projected to be of no more than $250, the accused Richmond driver will be punished to pay a maximum fine of $2,500 and serve jail time for a maximum time period of 12 months. Not only that, 3 demerit points will also be added to the driver’s driving record. All of these stated penalties are for those sentenced to a Class 1 Misdemeanor.
  3. For Unattended Property Damages Of More Than $500: If the estimated amount of the damages of an unattended property is projected to be of no more than $500, the accused Richmond driver will be punished to pay a maximum fine of $2,500. Not just that, the accused driver’s license will be taken under suspension for a time period of no more than 6 months. The driver will also be sentenced to serve jail time for a time period of no more than 12 months. In addition, The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) of Richmond – Virginia will add 4 demerit points to the offender’s driving record. All of these stated penalties are for those sentenced to a Class 1 Misdemeanor. 
  1. For Attended Property Damage Less Than $1000: If the estimated amount of damages of an attended property is projected to be of no less than $1000, the accused Richmond driver will be punished to pay a fine of no more than $2,500, along with serving a time period of 12 months as jail time. In addition, the relevant law enforcement authorities will hold the accused driver’s license in suspension for no more than 6 months. An addition of 4 demerit points will be placed on the offender’s driving record. All of these stated penalties are for those sentenced to a Class 1 Misdemeanor.
  1. For Attended Property Damage More Than $1,000: If the estimated amount of damages of an attended property is projected to be of no more than $1000, the accused Richmond driver will be punished to pay a fine of $2,500, along with serving a maximum period of 10 years as jail time, and having their driving license held under suspension for a year. Not just that, an additional 6 demerit points will be added to the offender’s driving record. These stated penalties are a Class 5 Felony for those found in this situation.