Marijuana has long been America’s top cash crop, some $35 billion a year in mostly black market sales. Marijuana laws are changing rapidly. Many states in the US now allow the use of the herb for medical uses. Virginia marijuana laws do not recognize medical marijuana. Simple possession of fewer than two ounces of cannabis can result in up to 30 days in jail and/or a $500 fine. Meanwhile, the penalty for the sale of five pounds (or more) is five to thirty years in state prison.
Federal Marijuana Laws:
Some states have legalized the recreational and medical use of marijuana. It is still illegal under federal laws. Federal laws prohibit possession of any amount of marijuana. The First conviction is punishable by up to one year in jail and a $1,000 fine. Second possession offense carries a minimum 15-day incarceration with a maximum of two years in jail and a maximum $2,500 fine. Third and the subsequent offense has a minimum jail time of 90 days with a maximum of three years and $5,000 fine.Sale and cultivation of marijuana carry even higher fines and punishment under federal law. First offenses can put someone in jail for five years, and large amounts can put someone in jail for life.
Richmond Virginia Marijuana Possession Laws:
Possession of any amount of marijuana in Richmond Virginia is a misdemeanor. Jail time for a first possession offense can be up to 30 days and comes with a maximum $500 fine. Any subsequent offenses are Class 1 misdemeanors. Federal and state drug possession laws make it a crime to willfully possess illegal controlled substances such as marijuana. These laws also criminalize the possession of “precursor” chemicals used in drug cultivation and manufacturing, as well as certain accessories related to drug use. However, what constitutes drug possession can vary according to the type of drug and the amount.
Selling Marijuana in Richmond Virginia:
Selling marijuana in Richmond Virginia is considered a worse crime. It enables others to break the law as well. Sale of up to half an ounce marijuana in Virginia is an automatic Class 1 misdemeanor. Sale of up to 5lbs of marijuana is a Class5 felony. Anything sale over 5lbs comes with a 5-30 year jail sentence. Selling within 1000 yards of a school to a minor comes with much harsher penalties. However, giving someone marijuana is not as serious of an offense as selling marijuana. In Richmond Virginia, if you can prove that you gave the alleged purchaser the marijuana for free, then you are only guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
There’s no question marijuana can have strong negatives, particularly when used by the young. But more and more, the plant is thought to have potential positive uses in treating symptoms of serious illnesses. Virginia currently allows the use of cannabis oil to treat intractable epilepsy. A Senate committee is expected to consider a bill to allow doctors to prescribe medical marijuana for the treatment of several more diseases, such as cancer.